S&S-Game One, Leafs @ Jets, 7:2

Dear Reader,

Last season I had the brilliant idea to write a sonnet for every Leafs playoff game. Now, clearly this way lay heartbreak. Learning from my mistakes, I am now doing one for every single Leafs game.

I know.

Life choices and all that.

That being said: Here is me, resident European hockey fan of this site, presenting to you S&S, short for Sonnets and Suffering. In conjunction with R’s recaps and Aaron’s stats, I’ll be delivering the poetry side, to remind you all why we love this sport and really, because I make bad decisions. Clearly.

Here’s to game one,

M

 

 

Game One. They come up to the Great White North,

Facing a team with hopes and dreams crushed, torn

Asunder; goals pouring, raining down, sent forth

Their new goalie flying to the bench, game worn

 

The Borg, lightly attempting murder, eh,

Brownie in the box; lost his stick for a full sixty;

Steel city guy Hainsey on the PK

Longer than James all night; 0 for 8, baby

 

And the Viking, the last line of defense,

Unmovable, Andersensational

Saving them all from doom, making them see sense,

And Leafs Nation bursting blue, emotional

 

They fought, and they won, seven-to-two, running

Home, for the first time, going to slay the King

 

Leave a comment